KpyM Telnet/SSH Server - Forum
Chroot Jail for SFTP
Dave Chroot Jail for SFTP

Any way of implementing this via the .ini or allusers.bat. Basically I want users to be "locked in" to their login directory & not to be able to wander around the HDD.

Thanks

Dave Wynne

Kroum Grigorov

You can "Chroot Jail" the users by setting the appropriate NTFS permissions on your HDD.
The KpyM SFTP will take in account the NTFS permissions for the currently logged in user.

Kroum

Thanks Kroum.

I'm from a linux background & I've had a quick look at the Security Tab of the Properties of a folder, but can't see anything there that would "chroot Jail" a user.

Can you help.

Thanks

Kroum Grigorov

I'm not an permissions expert so there might be a more flexible solution, but what I can suggest is to have a NO_ACCESS group that is explicitly denied access to all HDD folders but the desired "jail" folders. Then you can put your SFTP users in this NO_ACCESS group and the system will take care to force them to "stay" in their "jail" folders only.

Kroum

Dave KTS & Drewamweaver MX 2004

Kroum.

I've just hit another snag with Dreamweaver. Although the SFTP service works fine with FileZilla & sftp from a linux command prompt, it won't work with Dreamweaver.I remember having to put an entry in the sshd_config file on linux, as directed by the Dreamwaever support pages:

# Needed for Dreamwaevae MX 2004
PasswordAuthentication yes
# End

How can I make the same changes with your .ini file ?

Other than that I can't think of a single reason why Dreamweaver won't work.

Incidentally if I wanted to modify your C++ source code to implement a "chroot jail" where should I start looking to do this ?

Thanks again

Dave

Kroum Grigorov

If I get it right the PasswordAuthentication option just forces sshd to allways use "password authentication", KTS will allways and only use password authentication so I don't think this is the issue.